Final call Valencia: the Junior Talent Team gears up for the curtain closer

19 Nov 2021

Two more races conclude the 2021 FIM Moto3™ Junior World Championship for the JTT

After another incredible season of competition, it’s time for the curtain to come down on 2021 as the FIM CEV Repsol returns to the Circuit Ricardo Tormo. Two more races for the FIM Moto3™ Junior World Championship see 50 more points up for grabs, and the Junior Talent Team are looking to end the season on a high.

Sadly, Mario Aji won’t be taking part after the Indonesian broke his femur in training ahead of the Algarve GP, also sidelining him from a wildcard in the Moto3™ World Championship. So it will be Takuma Matsuyama, Tatchakorn Buasri and Eddie O’Shea flying the JTT colours this weekend.

Matsuyama has had a tougher run of late, but the Japanese rider will be buoyed by returning to the scene of his first podium finish. His impressive second place taken on the series’ first visit to the circuit earlier in the year, just 0.076 off the win, is form he’ll want to replicate in the last weekend of the season. With a place in the top ten in the final standings up for grabs too, there’s plenty on the line.

For Buasri, the first visit to Valencia didn’t go to plan as the Thai rider crashed in Race 1 and then sat out Race 2 with a small fracture to the head of his right humerus. However, there are good memories for Buasri at the track from 2020, as the Thai rider took his first top ten result in the FIM Moto3™ JWCh at the Circuit Ricardo Tormo. He’ll want more of the same as his level of experience continues to grow.

For Eddie O’Shea, experience is also key. The Brit was likewise sidelined from Race 2 earlier in the season, but did get some valuable track time in free practice and qualifying. Returning for take two he’ll want to move forward and end the season on a high, now with better knowledge of the classic Circuit Ricardo Tormo.

Two final races round out 2021 in style, so make sure to tune in for the first on Sunday at 11:00 (GMT +1), before the lights go out for the last time this year at 14:00 for Race 2!